Maslows Hierarchy of Needs

Essay by WatchrHigh School, 12th grade June 2014

download word file, 5 pages 0.0

Life of Pi: Maslows Hierarchy of Needs

By: Ryan Watch

The novel Life of Pi written by Yann Martel, portrays the five sections of Maslow's hierarchy of needs. Maslow's hierarchy is the psychological depths in understanding what motivates people. Pi the main character in life of Pi undergoes each step of hierarchy needs that motivate him to survive under his harsh conditions. Pi fully embraces each stage and brings forth his motivation through his suffering on the life boat in the Atlantic Ocean. The five steps Pi develops and grows to become are characterized as followed; physiological, which is the very first stage, this stage focuses on meeting ones' needs of food and water. The second stage is safety, this stage bring the focus of motivation toward reaching physical safety from danger. The third stage is love and belonging which focus the continental shift from survivability to regaining compassion towards life.

The fourth stage is characterized as self esteem, where a sense of purpose and accomplishment develops. The last stage at the tip of the hierarchy is self -actualization, where the sense of morality, creativity and spirituality is gained. Through Pi's journey in the Atlantic Ocean he experiences each hierarchy stage, fully developing each stage through his journey. As each stage is filled allows for the moving above into the next stage of the hierarchy.

Through Maslows hierarchy of needs we can fully understand Pi's motivation to survive. The first need of the hierarchy begins with physiological. Pi's physiological needs of food and water were the very first thing that was met when he was stranded on the life boat. Pi began discovering ways to obtain food and water before considering safety and his religious morals. Pi fell to extraordinary depths to obtain food and water, he became a...