Essay by CybercheeseHigh School, 12th gradeA+, November 1996

download word file, 2 pages 4.1 1 reviews

Most Australians are governed by three levels of government - local, state and federal. For instance,

a family living in Sydney would have the Sydney City Council (local) looking after such things as

garbage collection, park maintenance and dog controls. Australians pay their local government by

paying 'rates' - paid according to the area and position of any land that you own. They would then

be governed by the New South Wales Government, which would look after such things as roads,

and the police force. Finally, they are governed by the Australian (Federal) Government, which is

involved with trade, foreign affairs and the national treasury. Both the State and Federal

Governments are paid through income tax.

Australian governments at a State and Federal level are run according to the Westminster System,

used in England. This means that there are two houses of Parliament, a lower house (The House Of

Representatives) and an upper house (The Senate).

Decisions put forward and approved in the

House of Representatives must then be approved a second time by the Senate. The only exception

to this is the Queensland Government, which has only a House of Representatives.

Local governments are stationed in centre of the town or city that they provide to. State

governments are run from the state capitals, while the Federal Government sits in Canberra, in the

Australian Capital Territory.

There are six states, and two major territories in Australia. The states are: Queensland, New South

Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia. The two territories are the

Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory. Australia also has a number of areas run by

the Federal Government (dependent areas). These include the Ashmore and Cartier Islands,

Christmas Island, the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island, the McDonald...