A brief history on Wyoming State- also includes valuable facts.

Essay by yankee842 November 2003

download word file, 5 pages 2.7 1 reviews


History and Important People

For many years the Wyoming region was divided into two parts. The section west of the Continental Divide was part of three territories first Oregon, then Utah and Idaho. Eastern Wyoming was included in Nebraska and Dakota. Finally, in 1868, these sections were united into Wyoming Territory. The following year legislature granted that woman had the right vote and the right to hold office the first such legal recognition in the United States. In 1924 Wyoming elected the first woman governor in the US Nellie Ross.

On July 10, 1890, Wyoming was admitted to the Union as the 44th state. So the Equality State came to be with the motto "equal rights". The Sagebrush State, and Cowboy State are other nicknames. Its original name came from a Delaware Indian word probably meaning plains or meadows. The state lies about midway between the Mississippi River and the Pacific Ocean.

Here the Great Plains covering the eastern part of the state merge with the towering Rocky Mountains. The massive Rockies sweep across Wyoming from northwest to southeast.

Cheyenne was selected as the capital of Wyoming Territory in 1869. The state constitution was adopted in 1889. It became the state capital when Wyoming was admitted to the Union in 1890. Wyoming's chief tourist attraction was recognized in 1872 while Wyoming was still a territory Yellowstone became the first national park created by Congress.

Almost all of the territory west of the Mississippi River became a part of the United States through major annexations. Wyoming is the only state with land from all four of these acquisitions. The eastern section of the state was part of the Louisiana Purchase 1803. South-central Wyoming was annexed from Texas in 1845. The northwestern corner was part of the Oregon country1846. The...