Child Development Case Study

Essay by MamaitaliaCollege, UndergraduateB+, December 2009

download word file, 10 pages 5.0 1 reviews

IntroductionVictoria was born on May 9, 2009 at 6:32pm. She is three-fourths Italian and one-fourth Puerto Rican. She is an only child and has few friends her age outside of her daycare that she plays with. Her mother and father are now both living in the same home as Victoria after recently being separated and sharing custody for almost eight months. She seems to really enjoy having both of her parents in the home at the same time. Victoria has a one year old dog whose name is ''Marley'' and she is a Boxer. Victoria received her dog as a gift for Christmas when she was about two years old. Victoria is now two and a half years old and has had no health issues except for the very common cold a few times a year. It does not seem that Victoria has any stresses outside of what is normal for a girl her age.

Her so called 'stresses' are in correspondence to the household rules. Victoria goes to "KinderCare;" a daycare, while her mother and father are at work. Victoria attends daycare from 8am to 6pm Monday through Thursday. Victoria stays with a grandparent for one day every weekend, taking turns between her mother's parents and her father's parents. Victoria wakes up between 7:30am and 8:00am every day and eats breakfast within a half an hour of waking up. Her parents are very strict with the foods that she eats. For breakfast she will usually have a granola bar with peaches or oranges, oatmeal, cereal or yogurt with blueberries. Victoria will not eat eggs as she does not like the texture, however, she did eat more than usual one day when her mother put a drop of green dye into her eggs. Victoria will usually eat lunch...