Essay by johnhello123Elementary School, 1st gradeC-, September 2014

download word file, 3 pages 0.0



The following major sections of the Constitution set up Australia's federal structure: section 51,52, 86, 87, 90, 92, 96, 105, 107, 109

Section 51: The Commonwealth Government and the State Government has 39 concurrent law making powers.

51 i) Trade and commerce with other countries and among the states.

51ii) Taxation

51 xxix) External affairs

51 xxxvii) Matters referred to the Parliament by the States

51 xx) Foreign Corporations

51 xxi) Marriage

Section 52: Parliament has exclusive powers to make laws for: the seat of Government of the Commonwealth and all places acquired by the Commonwealth for public purposes. Matters relating to public service. Any other matters declared by the Constitution to be exclusive powers to the Commonwealth.

Section 86: The collection and control of customs and excise shall go to the Commonwealth

Section 87: Commonwealth gets only ¼ of the total revenue from customs and excise, the rest goes to the States.

Section 90: Exclusive power of the Parliament to impose duties of customs and of excise.

Section 92: Free trade within the Commonwealth over customs, trade and commerce

Section 96: The Parliament may grant financial assistance to the states if needed.

Section 105: The Commonwealth can make agreements with the States about state debts.

Section 107: The powers of the State Parliaments shall remain the same as at Federation.

Section 109: When a law of a State is inconsistent with a law of the Commonwealth, the Commonwealth's law shall prevail.

Exclusive Powers:

Are powers set out in the Australian Constitution which only the Commonwealth government can make laws. These include Section 90: Power to collect customs and excise duties. And section 52: Commonwealth can make laws about the operation of federal public service.

Concurrent Powers:

Powers that can be carried out by both the Commonwealth and...