What is the ISlamic Meaning of Life

Essay by shanie5000 February 2004

download word file, 3 pages 4.6

Downloaded 46 times

For Muslims, the purpose of life is Ibadah. Ibadah is submitting to Allah. The five pillars of Islam are the basis of their worship. They are Shahadah, Salat, Zakah, Sawm and Hajj.

The Shahadah is the declaration of faith to Allah. It is whispered to a new born baby and a dying person tries to make it the last thing they say before they die. Muslims also try to make it the first thing that they say in the morning and the last thing they say at night. It is: "There is no god worthy of worship except God and Muhammad is His messenger." When said in Arabic it is" la ilaha illa Llah" - 'there is no god except God'. Then, "Muhammadun rasulu'Llah" - 'Muhammad is the messenger of God.' The Shahadah shows that Muslims submit to Allah and Allah only.

Salat is the name given to the five compulsory prayers that Muslims must make every day.

Before praying a Muslim must perform Wudu. This is the cleansing which must be done before prayer. First, both hands are washed up to the wrist then the mouth is rinsed three times. After, the nostrils and tip of the nose are washed three times and the face is washed three times, from right to left and from forehead to throat. Each arm is then washed three times. Wet hands are passed backwards from the forehead to the neck, the ears and the area behind them are cleaned and then the nape is cleaned. Finally, the feet are washed up to the ankles. In Muslim countries and areas the Call to Prayer (Adhan) is made when it is time to pray. A translation of it is:

God is most great. God is most great.

God is most great. God is most...