North Korea Government

Essay by greg378College, Undergraduate November 2014

download word file, 7 pages 0.0

North Korea Government

Korea's division in 1945 along the 38 parallel was a temporary partition to facilitate Japanese's forces on the Korean Peninsula at the end of World War II. Andrea Matles Savada explains that before the division in 1945 along the 38 parallel, United States and the Soviet Union agreed to temporarily occupy the country as a trusteeship with the zone of control demarcated along the 38th parallel. The purpose of this trusteeship was to establish a Korean provisional government which would become "free and independent in due course". Korea was one nation until 1945, when the country was divided by the United States and the Soviet Union at the end of World War II. The war created two Korean governments, one in the north known as the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), and another in the south known as the Republic of Korea (ROK). The two Koreas engaged in a hostile war between 1950 and 1953 and remained divided as of today.

After division, the South Korea and North Korea took distinctly different paths of development. By 1990 North Korea emerged as a staunch communist society which was governed by a leadership that hardly open the country to the outside world while South Korea evolved into a liberal democracy after many years of military dictatorship.

The elections for South Korea were held in the U.S. zone in 1948 for a national assembly, which adopted a republican constitution and elected Syngman Rhee as the nation's president. The incipient republic was proclaimed on Aug. 15 and was apperceived as the licit regime of Korea by the UN on Dec. 12, 1948. While North Korea society revolves around the "religion of Kim II Sungism" and his chuch'e ideology, which is the application of Marxism-Leninism to the North Korean experience.