A summary of the following animals: Dolphin, Shark, Whale, and Tiger

Essay by homeboy5925Junior High, 8th grade April 2004

download word file, 3 pages 3.5

Downloaded 35 times


        Sharks have the most powerful jaws on the planet. Unlike most animals' jaws, both the sharks' upper and lower jaws move. Each type of shark has a different shaped tooth depending on their diet         Normally, sharks eat alone. But sometimes one feeding shark attracts others. They swim up as quickly as possible and all begin to try to get a piece of the prey. They bite wildly at anything that gets in their way -- even each other.

        Almost all sharks are "carnivores" or meat eaters. They live on a diet of fish and sea mammals (like dolphins and seals) and even such prey as turtles and seagulls

        Baby sharks are called pups. Just like there are many types of sharks, there are also different ways that sharks come into this world. There are three ways that sharks are born:

        eggs are layed (like birds)

        eggs hatch inside the mother and then are born                ÂÂ

        pups sharks grow inside the mother (like humans)

One of the reasons that sharks are such successful predators is that they have such super senses.

Two-thirds of a shark's brain is dedicated to its keenest sense -- smell. Some sharks have eyes similar to a cat. A mirror-like layer in their eyes allows them to see better in the water. This allows the shark to hunt in clear seas or murky water.


The blue whale is the largest mammal, possibly the largest animal, to ever inhabit the earth. The blue whale is blue-gray in color. An average blue whale is between 75 and 80 feet long, and weighs about 110 tons. Females are larger than males of the same age, the largest perhaps weighing as much as 150 tons!

        The blue whale is thought to feed almost exclusively on small, shrimp-like...