The United States House of Representatives Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming.

Essay by treploA+, September 2009

download word file, 7 pages 0.0

The United States House of Representatives Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global WarmingGlobal warming is defined as "the warming of the earth by greenhouse gases emitted into the atmosphere naturally or by mankind" (Global Warming… 1). Global surface temperature has increased by approximately 0.74 °C during the last century. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has concluded that increasing greenhouse gas concentrations resulting from human activity caused most of the temperature increase 1960s. These basic conclusions have been certified by more than 45 scientific societies and academies of science. The IPCC has recently published reports stating that the global surface temperature will probably rise a further 1.1 to 6.4 °C during the twenty-first century. The reason this number is so uncertain is because the models used have varying degrees of sensitivity to greenhouse gas concentrations and the use of differing estimates of future greenhouse gas emissions, displaying how uncertain the whole theory of climate change actually is.

The jurisdiction of the Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming is contained in section 4(c) of H. Res. 202, approved by the House of Representatives March 8, states that 'The select committee shall not have legislative jurisdiction and shall have no authority to take legislative action on any bill or resolution. Its sole authority shall be to investigate, study, make findings, and develop recommendations on policies, strategies, technologies and other innovations, intended to reduce the dependence of the United States on foreign sources of energy and achieve substantial and permanent reductions in emissions and other activities that contribute to climate change and global warming" (The Select… 1).

The Chairman of the Committee is Representative Edward J. Markey, also a senior member of the Natural Resources Committee. Out of fifteen members, nine are Democratic and six are Republican. Because this is...