Wisconsin Marriage Laws.

Essay by Britny September 2005

download word file, 3 pages 5.0

Downloaded 19 times

Marriage is a socially recognized and approved union between individuals, that many consider the basis of family, and is important to the preservation of values and culture. Martial relationships involve contracts, which state who is allowed to marry and how a marriage can end. States such as Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, and Washington all have the Uniform Marriage and Divorce Act. Wisconsin, like most states have marriage laws that are very similar to each other, with few variations.


In the State of Wisconsin, anyone is allowed to marry at age 16 with both his/her parents consent if they are living, or parent if they are divorced or are deceased, their legal guardian. If either the bride or groom is under 18, a written, notarized consent from his or her parents or guardian must be filed in the presence of a County Clerk. People under the age of 16 may not get married under any circumstances.

To be married without parental consent, both parties must be at least 18 years of age.

Premarital Counseling.

In Wisconsin and in all other states, there is no requirement that couples must receive premarital counseling. This law applies to adults to plan to marry. Several states are beginning to look at ways to encourage couples to take counseling or marriage education courses, such as offering benefits like reduced marriage license fee.

Marriage License Requirements.

Medical test are not a required to receive a marriage license. Many states have recently eliminated medical test from premarital procedures, but it really depends on the county that is issuing the license.

Upon applying for a license there is sometimes a waiting period before the couple can actually receive the license. For most states there is no wait time, however for Wisconsin you must wait...