Ap us

Essay by micah1621High School, 11th gradeA+, October 2014

download word file, 5 pages 0.0

Freedom of British North American Colony Micah Sharpe

What does it mean to be part of a British North American colony and be free? What does it mean to be free economically, politically, and religiously? British North America referred to the colonies and territories of the British Empire in continental North America. In 1775 the British Empire included 20 territories north of New Spain. These were Newfoundland, Rupert's Land, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, the Thirteen Colonies which united to become the United States in 1776, East and West Florida, and the Province of Quebec. After the War of 1812, the Treaty of 1818 established the 49th parallel as the United States-British North America border from Rupert's Land west to the Rocky Mountains. Britain gave up Oregon south of the 49th parallel, which was part of the Hudson's Bay Company's Columbia District, under the Oregon Treaty of 1846. The boundary of British North America with Maine was finally determined by Webster-Ashburton Treaty of 1842.

British North American colony Newfoundland was granted Dominion status. Britain remained until Canadians agreed on an internal procedure for amending the Canadian Constitution. This agreement was implemented when the British Parliament passed the Constitution Act of 1982.

The British became free economically because The American Revolution was a political disturbance that took place between 1765 and 1783 during which the Thirteen American Colonies broke from the British Empire and formed an independent nation, the United States of America. The American Revolution was the result of a series of social, political, and intellectual transformations in American society, government and ways of thinking. Starting in 1765 the Americans rejected the authority of Parliament to tax them without elected representation; protests continued to intensify, as in the Boston Tea Party of 1773, and the British imposed punitive laws the...