The Thirteen Colonies of the United States

Essay by Anonymous UserHigh School, 10th gradeA, May 2007

download word file, 7 pages 3.7 1 reviews

People around the world immigrate for many reasons and have to overcome numerous hardships in their new environment. In the 1600s, many people immigrated to what it now known as the original thirteen colonies. Some of them wanted to start a new life in a whole new place; others wanted to escape from religious persecution and go to a land where religious freedom was available. Whatever the reason, many settled in the colonies and had to find ways to survive and adapt to their surroundings. The colonies were divided into three parts: the New England colonies, Middle colonies, and Southern colonies. The land and the people living in the New England, Middle, and Southern colonies contrasted in various ways and also had different perspectives.

North of all the other colonies, the New England colonies include New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island. All four colonies touch the Atlantic Ocean and experience harsh, cold winters and mild, humid summers.

Although the soil was fertile enough to farm in some places, the New England colonies did not have the right weather to grow crops and have an agricultural-based economy. Because of this, the colonies had very few slaves and depended on an industrial-based economy, which included shipping, lumbering, and trading other goods. The population was high, and as more people were there, the education was higher. All the colonies except Massachusetts had a certain amount religious freedom, and some colonies had their official religion as the Puritan religion.

In between the New England and Southern colonies, the Middle colonies consist of New York, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey. The Middle colonies encountered cold, snowy winters and hot, humid summers and either had a considerable amount of religious freedom or strong religious tolerance. Since the colonies are located along...