Baseball Stadiums.

Essay by wfan99 May 2003

download word file, 3 pages 3.0

Downloaded 32 times

Baseball Stadiums

The essential rules of baseball have not changed since June 19, 1846 when a New York team defeated the Knickerbocker Baseball Club of New York in the first baseball game ever at Elysian Fields in Hoboken, N.J but many other things have like the stadiums. Over the last one hundred years, there has been four eras of baseball stadiums. This report will tell the stadiums of each era what they had and what they didn't as well as why stadiums have changed.

The first era of baseball stadiums were from 1900-1920. Some stadiums that were built in this period were, Comiskey Park (1910), Columbia Park (1901), Tiger Stadium (1912), and Wrigley Field (1914). All stadiums during this era were small in seating capacity. Columbia Park only had 9,500 seats and Wrigley Field when first built only had 14,000 seats. Comiskey Park had the largest capacity of that time at 32,000 seats.

The stadiums during this era also didn't cost that much to built, Wrigley Field for example only cost $250,000. The stadiums from this era were all grass parks and the stadiums were used only for baseball. The stadiums were built in this way because baseball was not as much of an entertainment source as it is today so less people watched baseball at a stadium.

The second era of baseball stadiums were from 1923 -1962. Some stadiums that were built in this period were, Yankee Stadium (1923), Cleveland Stadium (1931), and Chavez Ravine (1962). The stadiums in this era were larger and cost more to build then in the previous era. The stadiums in this era all had a natural surface. The stadiums cost from 2.5 million dollars (Yankee Stadium) up to 23 million dollars (Chavez Ravine). The stadium capacity ranged from the 50,000 ranges up to...