Facts on Costa Rica> The Republic of Costa Rica. Works Cited Included!

Essay by yankee842High School, 10th gradeA+, January 2004

download word file, 6 pages 4.4 1 reviews

Facts on Costa Rica

The Republic of Costa Rica, a Spanish speaking country, small, mountainous country, it is the second to last link in a chain of small nations that together comprise the isthmus of Central America.1 The republic is bordered by Nicaragua to the north, the Caribbean Sea and Panama on the east, and the Pacific Ocean on the south and west.2 Costa Rica is divided into two main climates tropical and subtropical. There are only two seasons, the dry season from December to April and rainy season that runs from May to November. Costa Rica has a land area of 19,730 square miles.3 Costa Ricans have a reputation for friendliness, hospitality, and a commitment to conversing their county's natural beauty.4 This commitment is so strong that Costa Rica protects 26 percent of its country in National Parks, Reserves and Refuges including seven active volcanoes.5

The Republic of Costa Rica, has a population of approximately 4,000,000 inhabitants, where Spanish is the main language and Catholic, the official religion.

It is a democratic nation and citizens are proud of their democratic tradition. Every four years, Costa Ricans elect a new President - there is no re-election. 6

A brief history of the republic, when Mexico rebelled against Spain in 1821, Costa Rica and the rest of Central America followed suit. Two years later, a faction in Costa Rica opted to become part of Mexico, sparking a civil war in the country. After the republican cities of San Jose and Alajuela soundly defeated the pro-Mexican Heredia and Cartago, sovereignty was established. San Jose is the capital of Costa Rica as well as the republic's largest city.7 As a democratic republic, Costa Rica adopted its constitution in 1949. Costa Rica has seven providences: Alajuela, Cartago, Herdia, Limon, Puntarenas, and San...